Wellington Firebirds head coach Glenn Pocknall has selected a 13-strong squad for their opening Dream11 Super Smash match against the Canterbury Kings at Hagley Oval tomorrow afternoon.

Michael Bracewell will captain the side which is at full strength apart from the absence of Tom Blundell who is in Australia with the BLACKCAPS.

Devon Conway will be key for the Firebirds during this year’s campaign – the 27-year-old was the leading run scorer in last year’s competition and will also take-on the wicketkeeping duties in Blundell’s absence.

Rachin Ravindra, Malcolm Nofal, Jimmy Neesham, Logan Van Beek and Jamie Gibson will all offer plenty with bat and ball and last year’s leading six-hitter Bracewell will inject power at the top of the order.

Hamish Bennett, Ollie Newton and Iain McPeake provide experience with the ball, as will Jeetan Patel who plays his penultimate match for the Firebirds tomorrow.

Tomorrow’s match is one half of a Dream 11 Super Smash double-header between Canterbury and Wellington.

The Blaze take-on the Magicians, in a repeat of last year’s final, from 12.40pm, before the Firebirds face the Kings at 4.10pm

Spectator entry is free of charge as part of Canterbury Cricket’s ‘Own The Oval’ initiative.

Wellington Firebirds squad | Dream11 Super Smash | v Canterbury Kings

Michael Bracewell (c)

Hamish Bennett

Fraser Colson

Devon Conway

Jamie Gibson

Iain McPeake

Jimmy Neesham

Ollie Newton

Malcolm Nofal

Jeetan Patel

Michael Pollard

Rachin Ravindra

Logan Van Beek